11 September 2019

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte conferred the Outstanding Government Workers Award to government service exemplars during the awards rites yesterday, 10 September 2019 in Malacañang.

Leading this year’s awardees are scientists whose initiatives in agriculture, medicine, and space administration led to breakthroughs.

Dr. Joselito R. Chavez of the National Kidney and Transplant Institute provided patients afflicted with leptospirosis with pulmonary complications a second lease on life by championing the use of the Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO). Before ECMO, mortality rate was 100%, but now, survival rate is at 62.5%.  

Meanwhile, Scientist 1 Ricardo F. Orge of the Philippine Rice Research invented the Continuous Type Rice Hull Carbonizer, a machine that processes rice hull biochar and enhances the property of the soil as well as the Kwebo, a multi-purpose typhoon-resistant farm structure designed for mushroom production in place of rice during rainy season.

Pagasa photo op

Dangal photo op

Lingkod photo op

The Advanced Space Technology, Research, Operations, and Services Team of the Advanced Science and Technology Institute- Department of Science and Technology placed the Philippines in the space technology map through the development and operation of the country’s first microsatellites DIWATA-1 and 2 and the first ground receiving station, the Philippine Earth Data Resource and Observation (PEDRO). These initiatives made possible the generation of images and data essential in weather forecast, disaster risk management, agricultural growth pattern detection, forest cover monitoring, cultural and historical sites monitoring and territorial border protection.

These are three of eight recipients of the Presidential Lingkod Bayan award which is conferred to an individual or group for exceptional or extraordinary contributions that had nationwide impact. Other awardees of the 2019 Presidential Lingkod Bayan include Bureau of Jail Management and Penology Regional Office No.  I Jail Superintendent Kenneth A Bid-ing; Gingoog City Government Assistant Department Head I Dr. Agnes A. Centino; and University of the Philippines-Manila Research Associate Professor 7 Dr. Raul V. Destura.

The Irradiation Services Team of the Philippine Nuclear Research Institute also from the Department of Science and Technology and the Dinagat Islands Provincial Cooperative and Development Office (PCDO) also received the Presidential Lingkod Bayan in the group category.

President Duterte also awarded recipients of the Outstanding Public Officials and Employees or the Dangal ng Bayan Award, and the Civil Service Commission (CSC) Pagasa Award.  

The Dangal ng Bayan Award is conferred to an individual for performance of extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior on the basis of adherence to the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.  One of the 2019 Dangal ng Bayan awardees is Master Teacher II Alvin F. Macalintal of Fortunato Perez High School for reducing illiteracy and dropout rate among Mangyan learners. He personally witnessed children walk as far as 25 kilometers or five-hours daily to sit in their classrooms, thus decided to allot a portion of his land to house the willing learners. This was called the Balay Lakoy Project which began in 2008. Aside from free housing, Macalintal offered mentoring, reading materials, and livelihood to parents of his students.

Other recipients of the 2019 Dangal ng Bayan Award are Viga, Catanduanes Municipal Government Department Head Dr. Robert John S. Aquino; Albay Provincial Disaster Management Officer Cedric D. Daep; City Government of Tacurong Administrative Officer V Allan S. Freno; Tangub City Civil Registrar Belen F. Linganay; Iloilo National Food Authority Mechanical Plant Operator Pepito P. Pauchano; Department of Education-Division of Sorsogon Calao Elementary School Master Teacher II Michelle D. Rubio; Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University- South La Union Campus Administrative Aide II Porferio L. Soloria Jr.; and Baguio General Hospital and Medical Center Medical Specialist III Dr. Maria Lourdes M. Trajano.

Meanwhile, the Civil Service Commission (CSC) Pagasa Award is given to an individual or group of individuals for outstanding contributions that directly benefit more than one department of the government. One group awardee, the Tagum City Agriculture Office’s Tagumpay Agrivolving Fund is recognized for and offering an easy-access credit facility that has broken the oppressive cycle of debt that has beset Tagum City farmers. From a starting fund of Php3 million in 2016, TAF has more than doubled its funds solely dedicated to farmers’ needs.

CSC Pagasa group awardees include Tagum City’s Integrated Management and Sustainable Environmental Approach to Coastal and Underwater Resources Group; and Visayas State University’s  Cocotech GenMovers.

Completing the line-up of CSC Pagasa recipients are Philippine Carabao Center Senior Science Research Specialist Wilma T. Del Rosario; Provincial Government of Dinagat Islands Agriculturist II Rico B. Galinato; Nueva Vizcaya State University Associate Professor II Lovella G. Velasco; and Tagbilaran City Mayor John Geesnell L. Yap II.

The annual Search for Outstanding Government Workers forms part of CSC’s Honor Awards Program (HAP). For more details on this year’s awardees, contact the HAP Secretariat at telephone numbers (02)931-7993, (02) 932-0381 and hotline (02) 931-4180 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .